Forgotten Tomb Interview

Hail Herr Morbid,Latets Forgotten Tomb opus Negative Megolamania is already out.So,as a beginning,what can you say about this album

HM: The new album was out in the end of January 2007, with quite a delay due to several reasons. The album is definitely a progression from the older stuff, since it introduce some new elements, like some clean vocals, an increased Doom/Sludge atmosphere and more catchy riffs. It’s less on the Black Metal-side and more on the Doom/Dark Rock-side, but our classic trademark is still there in all its magnitude. It’s another classic FT album, but with some new elements which make it refreshing compared to all the other Black Metal-related shit which is released everywhere on a daily basis. To cut it short: we’re still leading the pack!

 

And the motibation behind it?Is there any concept hidden behind?

 HM: No concept. The usual miserable lyrical-themes of FT are still there, but this time they are even more cruel and disillusioned, with a very perverse message lingering between the lines. Some of the things I put in the lyrics are: industrial/urban misery, self-destruction and depravity within the youth of today, general distrust and disillusion towards life and people, hate in its various ways, perversion, repulsion for human life and other fancy themes.

 

Are you “yourself” a megolamanic persona?

 HM: Yeah I think I am in some way. I’m very proud of the things I do with the band and I always think I can do better. I actually think megalomania isn’t always a bad thing, it helps you to become the best at what you’re doing. But “Negative Megalomania” represents the will to erase my enemies through the glorification of the negative side of life. It’s like using Negativity and Nihilism as a weapon against the others. It’s kinda difficult to explain, and words aren’t enough at times.

 

Previous album was kindda different when compared to other Forgotten Tomb albums,it was more progressive or maybe groove.This time i see an oldschool Forgotten Tomb album,so what can you say about this?

 HM: Hmm, what FT album did you listen to??! I think it’s the exact opposite. “Love’s Burial Ground” had an old-school feeling, with a very ancient and mystical atmosphere and a more Black Metal approach, while the latest “Negative Megalomania” sounds a lot more progressive and groovy, almost “alternative”, due to its Rock influences and to the pounding, acid and heavy riffs.

 

Clean vocal usage can be clearly heard this time.More clean vokals from now on the Forgotten tomb albums?It is quite good if you ask me…

 HM: Thanx. Yeah I think there will be always some clean vocals on the next FT album, I think they worked quite well on this one, so why not using them again in the future? I’ll probably use them in a bit different way on the next albums though. Btw I never know how a new FT album will sound until I release it, so it’s still early to predict things.

 

What are you listening nowaydays,regarding the extreme music? And what about the non –metal albums your are up to nowadays?

 HM: I usually don’t listen to many Extreme Metal music nowadays, though some of my usual recent listenings are: Beaten Back To Pure, Carnivore, Crowbar, Eyehategod, Goatwhore, He Is Legend, Marilyn Manson, Meshuggah, Misery Loves Co., Ozzy, Black Label Society, Paradise Lost, Type O Negative, Ritual Killer, Satyricon, Suplecs, Superjoint Ritual, Acid Bath, Agents Of Oblivion, Deadboy & The Elephant Men/Dax Riggs, Black Sabbath, The Cult, and many others…I’ve got quite a wide musical taste.

 

Is there any change in your life-style or daily life style lets say,since Forgotten Tomb has became bstronger in the scene?Or are you same the same person both mentally and socially?

 HM: Of course many things changed and I have to see things from a different perspective, since I’m no more just some unknown demo-band, and my albums are listened by thousands of people, so of course I’ve got some more responsibility when it comes to professionality. I surely evolved as a person, and as a musician/artist as a consequence. I’m no more a kid, since I’m 27 this year, and I was 18 when I started the band. It’s a big amount of time in one’s personal life, so it’s quite obvious that the many experiences (both in life and music) make you grow up in some way. Regarding the band’s popularity, I always worked hard on the band’s organization/promotion since the beginning and I always took care of everything concerning the band, so it’s kinda usual for me to deal with a lot of things at the same time (songwriting, rehearsals, organizing live-gigs, planning recording sessions, doing interviews/promotion, running websites/myspace, answering mails, taking care of the merchandise/orders, taking care of the legal business/financial part, etc.), but I must admit things are getting very hard to deal with lately. Too much work!! I’ll probably have to get a manager or something in the future, since the band keeps on growing bigger quite fast, and I really have a few difficulties in following everything properly. But at the same time, I like to have 100% control above the whole situation, so I’ll probably try to do most of the work by myself again.

 

Do you follow or support Italian black metal scene in any regard?

 HM: I don’t, basically because I don’t follow the Black Metal scene at all nowadays. I mostly listen to some old time friend’s albums if it happens, and there are actually some good bands, but I don’t feel part of any “scene”, and I actually hate that term. I don’t even like Italy, especially when it comes to Metal people/music.

 

What would be your recommendation for the new coming bands?Can you say Burzum or Mayhem wanna-bes can no longer exist here or there?

 HM: As I told you, I’m not much into the Black Metal underground scene anymore, so I don’t really know what bands are good and what are not currently.

 

What is the meaning of “creativity” for you in the music or life?

 HM: Difficult question. To me, “creativity” means freedom of speech and it represents a good reason to keep on livin’, otherwise life would be definitely useless. I can’t imagine my life without being creative, I guess I would create some different kind of art if I would stop playing music. Art and creativity are the main reason why I’m still alive. Uncreative people are useless and boring. I definitely want to leave a sign on this Earth before my death, I wish I could perpetuate a cycle of suffering with my albums for many generations to come. I think I’m on the right way to achieve that.

 

You may not answer this question if you dont want to,what is your daily job in daily-life?

 HM: I changed several jobs and now I’m unemployed. It’s a very complicated situation and it’s quite worthless to talk about it, I guess. I seriously hope to be able to find a compromise between normal life/job and music, ’cause I need more money but I couldn’t stand a normal job for a lifetime, especially because normal jobs force you to be in contact with people all day long, and I hate it. Plus, I don’t care about anything in life apart for music.

 

Thanks Herr Morbid,last word of yours,as always.

 HM: Thanx for the interview, don’t miss our mini-tour in Finland in the end of the summer: 30th August, Helsinki (with Rapture) + 31st August, Tampere (with Mustan Kuun Lapset & Funeral Planet) + 1st September, Turku (with Fall Of The Leafe & Throes Of Dawn). More details and news can be found at our official website: http://www.forgottentomb.com OR at our official MySpace blog: http://www.myspace.com/darknessinstereo . Stay Negative-

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • > CELLARIUM

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • > CELLAR