Odal Interview

Hei Taaken & Odal !I m listening the “…wilde Kraft/ …savag e(wild) power” at the moment and let me congratulate you because of this great true black metal album. So can you tell me more about the song writing process and inspiration regarding this new Odal opus?

First I want to thank you for your interest in Odal. The writing process took the same way like every other Odal release. I write the songs on my own and I take my inspiration from my life, nature, mythology as well as from old histories.

 

The photos in the album belong to you, to what extend are you into the photography?Are you dealing with photography in a close concept or is it just an hobby?

Yes, I photograph a little bit as hobby, but I don’t occupy myself deeply with that. When something beautiful comes to my lens I take a picture. I like nature sites but also ruins and castles the most.

 

You sing in German,which is your mother-tongue,and write the lyrics in German which i appreciate a lot. Have you ever thought of writing some songs in English?Or will this true attitude continue?

Well, some songs were written in english in the first Odal releases – even until the first album “Sturmes Brut” came out. After this first album I came to an end with that, because we got our own language which allows me to express myself a lot better. I will continue like that and Odal lyrics will only be written in german in future.

 

What do you think of the way black metal develops these days?

There are good and bad bands, what disturbs me are the masses of re-releases of LPs. Latest example is the Burzum LP. I collect vinyl, but I don’t think something of this re-releases.

 

Speaking of the German Black metal metal scene, which has been very strong lately with bands like Nargaroth,Lunar Aurora,Dies Ater,you and so on. How do you see the German black metal scene from your point of view?

Well, like in all other countries there are good and bad bands, fellow traveller and loyals in Germany.Generally I think that Germany has a good scene with a lot of good bands, and in the meantime some good printed UG magazines, too.

 

What do you think about changes in the zines creation? I mean changes that are caused because of the computerization and mainly slow decay of the dedicated printed zines. Do you think that the situation will turn round and we will desire xeroxed zines not webzines in the near future?                                                                         Like just said, printed magazines are coming up again in Germany. Not really like it was once, but it’s a good start and I hope that it will hold on.                                                                       

Do you read much? What books have you read recently? Do you have any favourite authors?On the other hand,to what extend you ar etaking inspirations from the books you read?(While composing lyrics etc)                                            I read a bit but not really much, I don’t have much time for such things. But when I get a interesting book I read it, that’s why I don’t have any author which books I read that much. The last book I read was “Geheimkulte” by Will-Erich Peuckert, it’s about secret cults like the “Freimaurer” and so on. But I don’t get any inspirations  from books.                                                                                     

Do you think that human-beings always will wage wars upon themselves and some beautiful day the whole Earth and th whole hypocratical mankinmd will go damned? How do you think?                                                                         I don’t know if the mankind will ever go damned, but it’s sure that there will always be war among humans, it’s naturally to make war, the law of the strongest is also valid for mankind. We’re all knowing this for a long time.                                                                            

What is the place of ideology or lets say politics in black metal?                                                                            it’s important to refer to the own defenition of politics. I interpret politics more as the daily politic. And not as the war against christianity.                                                          

Related with the previous one,is Odal a political band?Dont you think that it is wrong to blend politics and black metal?                                                                                                                                                              Well, I can tell you clearly that Odal is for no reasons a political band – in which context ever. The lyrics are about nature-mystic themes, old sagas, histories of our ancestors and mythology. I won’t talk about my own political thinking on this point.                                                                 

Another weird one on the way;Are you married? And what kind of effects could marriage have on the creativity of the artist? Have you ever thought of this? It sure one may be more creative when he is alone,yet what about a man married with children!?                                                                                                                                                   I’m not married according to the social meaning and I strictly refuse such a marriage. But I have a wife tight on my side in the bond of life and I also have two children. I don’t think that this can restrict my creativity, surely my time became more limited but that’s just a matter how one deals with it. I don’t waste my time anymore for irrelevant and senseless activities. And by the way it was my wife to play the violin on the outro of the new Odal album, so she’s as musically talented as myself, what doesn’t restrict me in any way.                                                                

Are you fond of discovering new bands? If yes can you give some names that you discovered accidentally ? On the other hand, there can be also new bands that you can recommend for the ugly readers of Frost Magazine?                  I’m surely fond of discovering new bands, I got a little label and that’s why I’m always searching for good UG bands. Oh, there are so many good bands and as many bad ones, and the matter of taste is always a important point, that’s why I think that everybody should find out by himself what he likes.                                                          

  What is your opinion about live black metal performances,do you think it is a good way to communicate with the listeners?                                                                                                                                                             I think where it fits, well, not every band is suitable for playing live but there are some I can image it would be good and some not. Inquisition for example has always been an experience live, I like it how they do their job. I always planned a concert for Odal but a the end I didn’t feel like it, mostly because there’d be too much maggots present. But like just said sometimes it fits and there are surely some bands which are good at playing live.                                               

Related with the previous one,to be honest ith you Taaken,i do not like such kind of live activities especially when it s a black metal gig-which is supposed to be misanthropic-!Yeah,some exceptions may take place but…What can say about it? Singing in front of the partying gays and air-head high school girls cant be related to the black metal,no way…                                                                                                                                                            Haha, well we seem to have similar opinions. But it depends on how the “audience” is.                                                                     

The last classic question;what are your future plans for the Odal?                                                                          There’s nothing planned definite for Odal at the moment, but the next album will come out when I’ve finished writing it sometimes. Otherwise I just make some surreptitious advertising for the first album of Wolfsschrei, my solo-band, for which I just have finished the recording.                                                                     

Thanks Taaken for your time,Finish this interview quoting the words of a man you admire the most, please!

 Ok in german “Genieße dein leben es wert nicht ewig” my grandfather.

 2006

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

