Morgul Interview

>1. Salut Jack.D.Ripper ,how do you do nowadays?What are the latest news
>from Norwegian Morgul’s camp?I COULD SAY THAT I’M DOING FINE BUT IT
>WOULD
>BE A LIE.THINGS COULD BE A LOT WORSE THOUGH SO I TRY TO LOOK AT THE BRIGHT
>SIDE. AS OF NOW I’M JUST WAITING FOR THE NEW ALBUM TO HIT THE MARKET AND
>SEE HOW IT DOES.
>2. You must be working on a new album at the moment,so,what kind of
>clues you can reveal here about this expected album?I HAVEN’T REALLY
>STARTED WORKING ON ANYTHING YET. ONLY A FEW MINOR THINGS. BUT I THINK IT’S
>SAFE TO SAY THAT LIKE BEFORE I WILL HOLD BACK NOTHING.
>3. There are exact sound differences between the old and new Morgul
>releases,i mean ,for an illustration;one who listens “Lost in Shadows
>Grey”and then listens “Sketch of the Supposed Murderer”will probably
>shocked by all means that are created by this winds of change.How can
>you comment on
>this new direction of the band?IT’S JUST NATURAL PROGRESS. I DON’T WANT TO
>DO THE SAME THING TWICE. AND YOU LEARN EVERY TIME YOU’RE IN THE STUDIO SO
>THINGS GET BETTER
>4. And do you care about the negative comments that you had to face
>after such kind of different albums?What is the meaning of the term
>”Feedback”for you?I HAVEN’T REALLY HAD ANY NEGATIVE FEEDBACK ABOUT
>IT.IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE FIRST MORGUL RELEASE WENT PRETTY MUCH
>UNNOTICED.
>5. Were you bored from the black metal cliches or what made you to
>direct Morgul in to its new way?On the other hand do you define this as
>a kind of proggress or is there any other term that you can employ here
>to label it?I JUST WANTED TO TRY DIFFERENT THINGS AND NOT HAVE ANY
>LIMITS. I’M NOT BORED WITH THE PURE BLACK METAL STYLE, I STILL LISTEN
>TO THAT STUFF, IT’S JUST NOT WHAT I CHOOSE TO DO.
>6. Among the all Morgul releases, “Lost In Shadows Grey”is my fave of
>course.So,i suppose,you may give us your fave Morgul album or song?I
>THINK
>BOTH “THE HORROR..” AND “SKETCH…” ARE REALLY GOOD ALBUMS AND THE NEW ONE
>IS GOOD TOO.I THINK MY ALL TIME FAVORITE MORGUL SONG IS THE MURDERING MIND.
>I HATE THE LOST IN SHADOWS GREY ALBUM.I MEAN, THE SONGS THEMSELVES ARE
>OK,FULL OF CLICHES THOUGH, BUT THE PRODUCTION ISN’T WORTH SHIT.
>7. Returning to the “Sketch of the Supposed Murderer”,to be honest,i
>found its drum sound a bit weak,or lets say,a bit more mechanic.Hoping
>that you perceive what i try to mean,i want to ask that what kind of
>drum sound should we expect in the new Morgul album?Will there be a
>program drums or will it be recorded by a real drummer?THE DRUMS ARE
>WAY MORE COMPACT AND BASIC SOUNDING. I HAD TOM CUPER HELP ME OUT ON THE
>DRUMS.(HE’S MY MYSTERIOUS PRETEND FRIEND…) SO IT’S A MIX OF SEQUENSER
>DRUMS AND ACOUSTIC DRUMS.
>8. What are your ideas on the new,modern black metal scene?Be it in
>Norway or somewhere else?SOME GOOD AND SOME BAD. AS ALWAYS. IT’S ALL
>JUST A
>MATTER OF TASTE.
>9. Do you still follow the underground?I mean,by all means; magazines,
>fanzines, breakthroughs,demos,splits etc?And ,by any chance,have you
>got
>any
>new names to recommend us here?I TRY TO KEEP UP A LITTLE ON WHAT’S GOING ON
>BUT I DON’T REALLY MANAGE TO DO SO IM AFRAID. THE ONE RECOMMENDATION I’D
>MAKE RIGHT NOW IS TO INFORM PEOPLE THAT CONFESSOR HAS REFORMED AND ARE
>CURRENTLY WORKING ON A NEW ALBUM, AND A NEW DEMO IS AVAILABLE AT THEIR
>WEBSITE.
>10. Meantime,you must have seen the movies(series)of the “The Lord of
>the Rings”.What are comments about these movies?What do you think about
>Peter Jackson’s work?Actually Peter Jackson’s style is very strong,even
>in earlier works of him like “Deadalive(Braindead)”etc.THOSE MOVIES ARE
>SOME OF THE BEST MOVIES I’VE EVER SEEN. THEY COMPLETELY BLEW MY MIND. I
>WAS ALLREADY A FAN OF PETER JACKSON AND I LOVE BRAINDEAD.I WAS VERY
>SURPRISED WHEN I HEARD HE WAS DOING THE LORD OF THE RINGS BUT ALSO VERY
>GLAD CAUSE I WAS SURE IT WAS GONNA BE AWESOME.
>11. Returning to Morgul,the latest album were featuring a Kiss
>cover.Will there be any cover song in the coming album?And what was the
>reason for chosing a Kiss song to cover?THERE’S NO COVER SONG ON THE
>NEW ALBUM. I CHOSE TO DO A KISS SONG CAUSE KISS WAS THE VERY FIRST BAND
>I WAS REALLY INTO WHEN I WAS LIKE 5-6 YEARS OLD.
>12. From the old albums,ancient scenes,what kind of bands were you
>listening when you just started to listen metal music?(Excepting
>Hellhammer,Bathory,Iron Maiden or Celtic Frost)Do you like Judas
>Priest,Black Sabbath,or even from earlier;The Doors etc?THE BANDS I WAS
>LIKE TOTALLY INTO WHEN I WAS A TEENAGER AND THAT I’M STILL TOTALLY INTO
>ACTUALLY WERE BANDS LIKE WASP, METALLICA,JUDAS PRIEST,BATHORY,
>ANTHRAX,MEGADETH, IRON MAIDEN ETC. MY FAVORITE BAND WAS PROBABLY IRON
>MAIDEN.
>13. Thanks Jack.D.Ripper,any last hails,curses,or death threats to spit
>here from the Frost Magazine?CHECK OUT THE NEW MORGUL ALBUM AND GET
>WASTED.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • > CELLARIUM

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • > CELLAR