Hordes Of The Lunar Eclipse Interview

 

1.             Salut Hordes of the Lunar Eclipse!How is your life
nowadays?both 
> spiritually and musically speaking,of course.
Hei there,what are the latest new from Hordes..
Hello Frost Mag!!!
 
How is life?  Well, life is… life.  Spiritually and musically, we are 
strong.  All else is simply …life.
 
>             2.             Lets start with the historical backround of the Horde of The 
> Lunar Eclipse,i mean let us know much about the band…
“Hordes” began in the mid 90’s by Tophetarath and myself.  We began 
writing material, some of which was used on the “Dancing Demons” album, 
and recorded our 1st single, “Lunœr Protean Beastiation” on 4-track 
cassette.  Shortly thereafter we added Süültanivus (ex-Cryptic) on 
guitar and continued writing.  We recorded a single for an early Dark 
Horizon Compilation, a song called “…And the Moon Was as Blood” 
released around 1997.  Shortly after Süültanivus left the band and we 
added Patrick Bruss (Crypticus) on guitar.  Around this tyme 
Tophetarath joined Fog, known then by “Thy Darkest Empire”.  Patrick 
left after a few months, and “Hordes” went on standby for a short time. 
  After a couple of months I joined Fog and put all my energies into 
learning the Fog material along with writing new Fog material for the 
“Through the Eyes of Night…” album.  After the Fog album was 
released, Tophetarath and I began rewriting old material and putting 
together new songs for the “Dancing Demons” album.  We also released 3 
songs on a 4-way split CD with ourselves, Allfather, Nebron, and 
Gnostic.  One of these songs went to the “Dancing Demons” album, while 
the other 2 are not available on any other release.  We are currently 
working on new songs for a 2nd album as well as a single for a 
forthcoming compilation “Destroyers From the Western Skies”, and 
perhaps a few more 7″ singles.  As to when the new L.P. will be out, 
well, when it’s ready!  Tophetarath does all the recording and runs a 
metal studio producing many other bands out of his basement.
 
>             3.             What is the biggest aim that dwells on your soul while giving 
> life to Hordes of the Lunar Eclipse songs?Can you enlighten us more
on 
> the ideogical part of the band?
Our aim with this music is to serve the music as it calls to us.  We go 
by feel, with very little outside influence.  The “Hordes” ideology 
isn’t based upon any set religion or belief, it’s more of a combination 
of many dark aspects of many beliefs.  It’s difficult to explain and 
nail down in words.  Words are always too weak to carry the weight of 
the meanings they imply.
 
 
>             4.             Related with the previous question,for you,what should black 
> metal deal with?I believe it should always be part of an idelogy and 
> spiritaulism,what do you think about that?
 
Yes, Black Metal should deal with spiritualism, though that 
spiritualism is  really up to the individual.  It should always deal 
with darkness, however, black metal should always deal in some form of 
evil, hatred, violence, despair, whatever…  The music must serve  
darkness.
 
 
>             5.             How were the reactions “Dancing Demons…”?Are you satisfied with 
> the general feedback?
General feedback for “Dancing Demons” has been good.  We’ve moved a lot 
of CD’s, the album is also available on 12″ vinyl now as well, which,  
in our opinion, is much more CULT and generally just sounds better than 
the CD-version.  Go get one and see for yourself!!!
 
 
>             7.             Please give more information about the lyrical side of the 
> Hordes of the Lunar Eclipse?Under which influences you compose 
> lyrics?Arte there any exclusive “things” that you dedicate the lyrics 
> to?
Hordes lyrics are inspired primarily by dream sequences and images, and 
by simply sitting quietly thinking upon a subject, or feeling the 
actual music of whatever song I may be writing the lyric for emulates 
(for the songs I wrote or am writing lyrics for, Tophetarath also 
writes lyrics for some of the songs).  Sometimes a piece of artwork or 
literature will inspire a general mood that I will try to work into a 
song, and cold weather is always inspirational to us both, I almost 
always write lyrics in the winter tyme.  Most direct inspiration 
however, does come from within, as opposed to without.  I always try to 
write from my own personal darkness, this keeps the songs closer to me.
 
>             8.             Have you ever performed live?If yes,what can you say about the 
> atmospheres of the performances?
Hordes has never performed live, there are only two of us.  We have 
played live with Fog countless times.  Sometimes the feel was good, 
other times not.  It’s really show-to-show, and whether or not you have 
a promoter and/or sound man that is willing to do the sound as it 
should be done, more as an art form to compliment the art of the music 
instead of simply doing a job.  Many sound men don’t care about sound.  
This often ruins a performance.  If you can be in control of all the 
variables of putting on the live performance, it can be pulled off 
rather well.  You will get across to the audience what you intend to, 
the music will be felt as well as heard.  Otherwise the music gets 
fucked up by someone who doesn’t give a shit about the music anyway, to 
them it’s just a job, good sound or bad sound, they get paid.  When you 
have a good sound system and a good sound man, preferably who is into 
this specific type of music, you can get across the power the music 
holds and the felling of this power is monumental.  You become this 
power.  Playing live is the true test of a band.  You get one chance.  
There are no over dubs or extra takes.  It’s battle, you stand or fall. 
  Too many times a band will lose this fight due to to the poor
weaponry 
a promoter or sound man will provide, many live performers will 
probably agree with this.
 
>             9.             And,do you think that is the Black Metal suitable for the live 
> performances?How can a such kind of misathropy originated music 
> performed live?What are the negative and positive sides  of
performing 
> live for you?
Lately I have been too involved with my own music to really hear much 
new music.  I have been working on several projects that keep me quite 
busy.  I do not hear of much goings on in the “scene”.  There is very 
little promotion of good metal shows and only a few bands locally.  I 
am not on the internet, the only news I hear is word of mouth.  I don’t 
have much to say about a “modern black metal ideology”, my own 
ideologies and beliefs haven’t changed much at all.  I don’t know what 
the “modern” belief is.  I don’t pay too much attention to what someone 
else does or says, I’m busy doing my own thing.  The only new albums 
I’ve heard metal-wise are Drudkh and Funeral Mist, both of which I like 
a lot, great albums!!  U.S.-wise I hear little.  I have heard and have 
seen Typhus perform live as far as black metal goes, it was good.  All 
of the metal bands I am in are studio projects, I don’t get out much.
 
>             10.           Can you say your ideas on todays black metal scene?Do you
think 
> are there some points skipped in nowadays “modern”black metal 
> ideology?
Lately I have been too involved with my own music to really hear much 
new music.  I have been working on several projects that keep me quite 
busy.  I do not hear of much goings on in the “scene”.  There is very 
little promotion of good metal shows and only a few bands locally.  I 
am not on the internet, the only news I hear is word of mouth.  I don’t 
have much to say about a “modern black metal ideology”, my own 
ideologies and beliefs haven’t changed much at all.  I don’t know what 
the “modern” belief is.  I don’t pay too much attention to what someone 
else does or says, I’m busy doing my own thing.  The only new albums 
I’ve heard metal-wise are Drudkh and Funeral Mist, both of which I like 
a lot, great albums!!  U.S.-wise I hear little.  I have heard and have 
seen Typhus perform live as far as black metal goes, it was good.  All 
of the metal bands I am in are studio projects, I don’t get out much.
 
 
>             12.           You are working with the Dark Horizon records at the moment.Do 
> you content with their promotion etc?Will the next release also come 
> from them?
Dark Horizon has done a fairly good job with promotion, and with the 
distribution of the CD, as well as getting it licensed to be pressed on 
vinyl with Serpent’s Caput.  The next release will be the compilation 
single on “Destroyers of the Western Skies”.  Our next full-length will 
most likely come out on Dark Horizon.
 
>             13.           Do you have any words for your enemies?
Our enemies?  If someone else doesn’t like what we do, Fuck ’em!  Don’t 
listen to it.  I’m not into shit talking, it’s a waste of time.  If 
other motherfuckers want to do that, whatever.  Talk is cheap.
 
>             14.           Ok,thanks for your time on Frost Mag,say your fave Bathory
song 
> (Mine is “Woman of Dark Desires”) and close the interview please!?
 
Thank you Frost mag for the interview, we really do appreciate your 
interest in the band….  Favorite Bathory song?  Luathca = 
EQUIMANTHORN and Tophetarath = HOW DO YOU CHOOSE A FAVORITE BATHORY 
SONG?!?  THEY’RE ALL PERFECT!!  Quorthon/Bathory is like the Elvis to 
Rock and Roll!  HAIL the KING!
 
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • > CELLARIUM

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • > CELLAR